Bookmark and Share

This article is in the news archive.

2018 Academy of Medical Sciences Fellows

Eight Cambridge academics are among 48 of the UK’s world leading researchers who have been elected to join the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.


The new Fellows have been elected for their outstanding contributions to biomedical and health science, leading research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and the wider society.

This year's elected Fellows have expertise that spans sleep research, infectious and tropical diseases, diabetes medicine, parasite biology and ultrasound research and technology among many other fields.

Professor Sir Robert Lechler PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said: “The Academy simply could not tackle major health and policy challenges without our dynamic and diligent brain trust of Fellows. I extend my warmest congratulations to all who are joining us this year, each of whom has earned this prestige by advancing their own field of biomedical science.

“Later this year the Academy will celebrate 20 years of supporting the translation of biomedical and health research into benefits for society. As we celebrate this special anniversary we stand at a crossroads of both enormous health challenges and great opportunity for medical sciences. So I am delighted to see the remarkable breadth and depth of the expertise within our 48 new Fellows. We look forward to these experts joining us in addressing the health challenges we face head on and exploiting opportunities to improve health in the UK and internationally.”

The Cambridge researchers among the new Fellows are:

  • Professor Simon Baron-Cohen FBA, Autism Research Centre
  • Professor Simon Griffin, Department of Public Health and Primary Care
  • Professor James Huntington, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research
  • Professor Peter Hutchinson, Department of Clinical Neurosciences
  • Professor Jonathan Mant, Department of Public Health and Primary Care
  • Professor Lalita Ramakrishnan, Department of Medicine
  • Professor David Rowitch, Department of Paediatrics
  • Professor Nicole Soranzo, Department of Haematology

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 27 June 2018.

Cambridge Neuroscience would like to congratulate Simon, Peter and David (and all of the Fellows) on their election.

Posted on 11/05/2018

Further news

Go to the news index page.